Heritage Open Day: St Michael's is open every day of the year, but on Sunday 8th and 15th of September, we will have special Open Afternoons with guided tours from 1400 to 1600 and refreshments available from 1400. This ancient Church known locally as the Cathedral of the Dales was built to the glory of God by the monks of West Dereham in 1490. There has been a place of Christian worship here on this site for well over 1000 years. Many original features remain such as the original roof timbers, niches and carvings on the nave pillars, boxed pews, and 13th century priests coffin lids from the earlier church on this site.