Heritage Open Day: From George IV to Charles III hear the stories and the voices coming together to celebrating the contribution of the church to the community of Bierley and beyond. Bierley St John's was built as a private chapel for the Richardson's of Bierley Hall in 1766. It was designed by John Carr, the architect responsible for Harewood House. The church has been adapted to meet the changing needs of the congregation but retains many original features, including stone columns and an Italianate bell tower.
In 1824, the chapel was consecrated for public worship and subsequently had a substantial impact on the spiritual and physical well-being of the parish in which it was situated.